North Dakota - Manitoba ACRL Chapter Report 2012-2013

The North Dakota –Manitoba ACRL Chapter held its annual spring symposium on April 29, 2013 at the University of North Dakota (UND), Grand Forks, with approximately thirty academic librarians from North Dakota and Manitoba in attendance. The theme of the 2013 symposium was *Liaison Librarians: What is the Role of the Liaison Librarian?* 

Keynote speaker, Mary Feeney, Associate Librarian, Research Services Team, from the University of Arizona Libraries shared her experiences as the University librarians moved away from the common liaison model to one in which the collection development and research support team separated from instructional services. During the past year, the Research Services Team developed a new framework for communicating with and learning about the needs of faculty and students.

This year's presentations by chapter members were as follows:

A Round-Table discussion led by a panel of North Dakota and Manitoba librarians about what it means to be a liaison librarian in an academic institution. What are the traditional roles of the liaison librarian and what are the changing roles that some librarians are experiencing

Emma Popowich, Languages Librarian (Elizabeth Dafoe Library, U of M) presented "Embedded Librarianship: Participation in Academia as a Student and Librarian"

Asako Yoshida, Reference & Liaison Librarian (Elizabeth Dafoe Library, U of M) presented "Designing Student-Centered Learning Environments in Higher Education: A Potential Role for Librarians"

John, Tooth, Ph.D., Copyright Officer and Head of the Copyright Office (University of Winnipeg Library) presented "Copyright Liaison: The Role of the Library's Copyright Officer, University of Winnipeg"

The chapter's annual general meeting was held during the midday break when the 2013-2014 officers and executive committee members were announced:

Mary Hegle Drewes, chair (Univ. of North Dakota)

Nicole Michaud-Oystryk, chair-elect (Univ. of Manitoba)

James Kominowski, immediate past-chair (Univ. of Manitoba)

Andrea Lorenz, secretary (Mayville (ND) State Univ.) resigned

Janet Rex, secretary (Univ. of North Dakota) appointed to fill vacant position

Jim Sutherland, treasurer (Univ. of Manitoba)

Lenard Lawless, member-at-large and webist (Univ. of Winnipeg)

Sally Dockter, legislative liaison (Univ. of North Dakota)

Wilbur Stolt, non-commercial registered agent (Univ. of North Dakota)

Submitted by Mary Hegle Drewes, chair (University of North Dakota)